Faking it at Pondicherry

Title made you curious? Read on, it’s a funny story.

There are a couple of reasons that Pondicherry is one of the places I keep going back to:

  1. Awesome pizza
  2. Auroville
  3. Awesome pizza
  4. Beautiful houses
  5. Awesome pizza
  6. Beaches

Priorities, huh?

Anyway, Pondicherry is one place I’ve been going to every couple of years since I was maybe in the  5th grade. I’m 22 now. So that’s a long time. And it’s not really a conscious decision to go back to the same place. It’s just that my mind goes back to Pondicherry when I’m looking for a super chill holiday, even if it’s just for two days.

This particular trip to Pondicherry, however, came at a great time. I was struggling with some personal things and they were bringing me down. And this vacation literally cleansed my mind and made me look at my problems through a whole new lens, with a whole new perspective.

We were staying on a street that overlooked the sea. Technically it wasn’t a beach, really, because it was covered with enormous rocks. My friends and I made it our mission to find the closest beach and go there for at least a day before we left Pondicherry. So we found one. Except it was a private beach owned by a resort that you’re technically not allowed to access unless you stay there. But who cares, am I right? There’s a beach, we want to go to the beach, there’s a way to get there, so we got there. We told our parents about it and conveniently left out the part about it being a private beach, that you can access only if you’re a guest of the hotel. I mean, were they just simply going to drive back the same hour that it took to get there? Nah. So we walked through the hotel lobby like we owned the place, and straight to the beach. No towels, no bags, nothing. And it was the best thing we did that trip (other than the pizzas of course).

We spent easily 3 or 4 hours on that beach. Taking pictures, running around like kids, running into the water and whining about getting wet (but secretly loving it), and sitting on the sand with the wind in our hair (and sand in our faces – ouch). We were the only ones on the beach for the longest time. It was only the last hour I think, that there were other people who came out. We played a game of ‘volleyball’ with some strangers, we took chocolate from a sweet old man who asked us to take a picture of him and his wife, and then we set off with sand stuck upto our ankles, and in our slippers. But with the widest smiles on our faces.

A beach adventure is always worth it, I think. Like I’ve said before, the beach is probably the one place I can sit and collect my thoughts, or throw my thoughts away and freeze them until I really need them again. It was quite funny actually, this beach trip. All of us (all of us = my friends and I) were acting like idiots and the next second we’re all quiet and sitting on different parts of the beach, just thinking. In my case, not thinking. It was one of those rare moments where I could just simply let go and not be worried that I was letting go. I felt so free, so light, like I had no care in the world, nothing to be worried about, that nothing was wrong and everything was going just the way I wanted it to.

Oh what I would do to get that feeling back.

IMG_20141225_195508.jpg

Don’t even ask me what we were doing there.

Leave a Reply

